Development

The below images show the production timeline of my visual image making of Grandma’s house for the development of my introduction of my Book 1 story. Starting with the first image I incorporated my inspiration and influence from my St Fagons visit using the images from my phone. I included from the resources and memory the windows, door and roofing that I recalled seeing. My first image was made with more time and critical thinking. I very much enjoyed the process of the abstract shapes of trees that I drew from memory to create the surrounding environment.

grandma house design 1house design 2

From my first carefully thought about image I wanted to redraw the basic shapes more loosely like I had established with the trees to allow for more of a fluid and imperfect image where a concern for symmetrical and straight lines are free of correctness. This was an idea to make the image more authentic, natural and entertaining rather than an exact copy of life I wanted it to be innovative and a statement for my ethos of just draw/paint. thumbnail_Scan_051220171064_001

This image above shows my arrived conclusion of this project. When the spirit of the painting was lost the process of drawing with a change of tools would always bring it alive again. I am really happy with this result. The pencil was used for texture and the pen and ink was used for the feature of telling line. I am happy for my future projects to work in this way. The acrylic is used to give the strength of the colour that I am looking for. To improve this work the power of the utility of white space in my work is also something that I need to be wary of to invite for the space for breaks and thinking. The preservation of the background helped this image to create a balance of this inviting contemplative space and image.

Author: ellosweetmellon

I am 21 years old and I live in Cardif. My dream is to be a great illustrator that can sell and exhibit my work with pride.

Leave a comment